Christmas Eve ~ Day 10

I have been scared.  Mary and I committed to visiting her family during Christmas, and I did not know if I would be able to make it.  Between the fact that I have not traveled more than 2 hours by car since I was injured, and the reality that I overdid it on Sunday and Monday – I just was not sure where I was going to get the energy to make the visit happen.

Luckily, Mary and I have learned a thing or two over the last 11 months, and we set ourselves up for success.  Pat on the back to both Ms. Zompetti and myself.

Before my injury, I had every minute scheduled – tasks, places I needed to be, plans.  Every waking moment I had invested in one goal or another, one experience or another.  It felt like there was not enough time in the day. Now, I have lots of time.  Especially the last 1 1/2 weeks – I am not working, so I have all the time in the world, right?

Strangely, even though I have much more time, I actually do much less.  For example, yesterday was dedicated completely to packing and driving to Connecticut.  That was all I scheduled, that was all I had to do – ride in a car for five hours to Connecticut.  Can any adult truly say they can imagine setting aside a whole day to travel five hours?  Yes, pack, travel, and then…?  Meet with family, attend a meeting, try out an interesting restaurant, have a drink, do some work – something, or many somethings, before the planned tasks of the day would be done.

Incidentally, it was an appropriate and necessary thing to set aside so much time for me to travel.  I needed the earplugs and the eyemask to block out the noise and light.  I needed the recovery time.  I needed the packed leftovers so I did not have to face a restaurant once I arrived at my destination.  I needed the evening alone to have quiet, while Mary went and had dinner with her sister.

And today, Xmas Eve, was another not-overscheduled day.  My morning was free – more recovery time.  Mary and I slept well; I did some yoga and we took a walk around the neighborhood before we left to visit family.

Mary and I enjoying a walk around New Haven, CT.

Mary and I enjoying a walk around New Haven, CT.

The most difficult part of the day was not the hours of social plans with family, nor the late night.  Instead, it was – unexpectedly – driving.  After making it for five hours on the highway between Vermont and Connecticut, why would driving 20 minutes cause my eyes to glaze over?  The sound of windshield wipers running continuously, squeaking against the glass.  Stopping at red lights.  Speeding up, slowing down, turning left or right.  Other cars all around us, driving with dubious intentions.  All of it together equals city driving, and today, it equaled a glazed-eyed Kim.  Luckily, Mary recognized it more quickly than I did, so I took some time to recover, gave myself Reiki, sat in the car while she ran in places.

Waiting in the car is sometimes the right choice.

Waiting in the car is sometimes the right choice.

All in all, even with the challenge of traffic and rain, I was pretty functional and I had a pretty good day.  Another success for the record book.  Thank the Goddess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

