Brave Frontier: Day 1

I thought I would at least chronicle my first day on leave.

For those who want to skip to the conclusion:  It went great!

The day went like this:

Wake up at a reasonable time, have a slow morning.  Enjoy yummy cherrios and check to see if anyone read my post last night.  Read for a bit.  Realize I have the time and energy to surf the interwebs.  Whoot!

HO13_Surf_Maassen_2-102

The internet has been a locked mystery to me for the last 11 months.  I simply have not had the energy to breeze through the endless supply of information with ease.  Now, I do not have to save myself for my work, so I indulge.  I find a bunch of free yoga videos and do one.  Read email and respond to a few of them.  I check out trails.net and found hiking places near my area. I plan to visit one a week and snowshoe – as long as the current foot of snow stays – or hike.

When I start to feel any hint of spacey-ness or headache, I stop, just like that.  I have all the time in the world.  No need to push, no need to rush.  I sit in a rocking chair, look at the horses through the back window, and pet a cat in the sunshine.  Without guilt.  Without planning my next series of moments and how I will get enough hours of work in today.  Without needing to explain anything to anyone, including myself.

Suddenly, it is past lunch time.   I make a celebratory lunch for myself of steak and baked potatoes and peas.  Next, an hour long talk with an old friend.  Open a box with two new books I bought – one for fingerstyle guitar, another full of earth-oriented songs – and spend some time looking through them.

Surf the interwebs again.  Check my blog activity.  Check facebook and actually have the energy to read what is up with some of my friends.  Sent some messages out into the universe.

And now I sit on my couch, typing this blog.  As of 6 pm, Day 1 is a success.  Spirits are high, body is rested.  I hope day two goes as well.  Blessed be, friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brave Frontier: Day 1

  1. scoobyamh says:

    Reblogged this on scoobyamh and commented:
    Sounds like you had a productive first day. I love how you didn’t feel any guilt in your essential ‘doing nothing ‘. I wanted to suggest painting as something to do. It can be soothing just to enjoy putting color on canvas for no particular reason . Just a suggestion. I hope tomorrow finds you rested and healing in the sun by the window with your cat.
    Love, Amanda

    Like

  2. velvetpuzzle says:

    Whooohooo!!! 😀 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

